placeholder image
The Home of Alnwick Dolphins

Location & Facilities

Our Home is Willowburn Sports and Leisure Centre located in Alnwick, a vibrant and modern community hub, where we have access to a six lane 25m pool. Working with the brilliant Active Northumberland team, our training sessions are set up with lane ropes, floor lifting or lowering, and dive blocks as needed by the coaching session. Training sessions are closed to the public, which enables good communication between the coaches and the swimmers. There is plenty of free parking and changing facilities at the centre. For members or parents who are Active Northumberland members, there is a well-equipped gym as well as opportunities for racket sports or soft play in the sports hall.

The location of the centre is a 10 minute walk from the Duchess’s Community High School, which is ideal for older swimmers after morning swim sessions. They have time to change, ready themselves for the school day and walk across for the breakfast club at the start of the school day.

Willowburn Sports Centre
Alnwick Dolphins Teams Structure

Squads

The structure of the Club has been developed to support the swimmer’s journey from new competitive swimmer all the way through to a swimmer competing at regional and national level.

There are three tiers in the club and each tier has a number of different squads to support the development journey through that tier.

Training Timetable
placeholder image
The Core of the Club

Galas

The definitive difference between the learn to swim program and joining a competitive club is that in a club, the newly attained skills, technique, and fitness are then utilised in a competitive gala. Against the club, and within the rule framework of British Swimming, galas are held both at our Home in Willowburn and also away at our sister clubs in the region. Unlike football, galas are not held every week. The coaching team carefully targets specific galas for each tier to complement the training program and targets within that tier.

Find out more
Coaches and Team Managers

Introducing the Team

Our experienced and dedicated volunteers

The coach’s role is to create the circumstances that enable the maximum potential for a swimmer to improve their performance in a pool. Coaches provide the structure in the form of a safe environment, a targeted training programme and gala schedule to navigate the season, delivering the best performance at the right gala.

A key role of a coach is to observe and give feedback to the swimmers, in order that they can learn and improve. This may be through 1:1 feedback, group alignment, or an adjustment to the training plan. Swimmer learning differs from person to person, so coaches need to be agile to the individual learning methods of each swimmer in the squad.

Coaches also need to be aware that many things influence performance in training and galas, so are also there to support swimmers through these factors.

Coaches

Katy Batley

Head Coach

Level 3 (Swim England)

katy.batley@alnwickdolphins.com

Paul Batley

Coach

Level 2 (Swim England)

paul.batley@alnwickdolphins.com

Amy Hately

Coach

Level 2 (Swim England)

amy.hately@alnwickdolphins.com

Mike Samuels

Coach

Level 2 (Swim England)

mike.samuels@alnwickdolphins.com

Helen McDonnell

Coach

Level 2 (Swim England)

helen.mcdonnell@alnwickdolphins.com

Ross Wilson

Coach

Level 2 (Swim England)

ross.wilson@alnwickdolphins.com

Joe Waugh

Strength & Conditioning Coach
joe.waugh@alnwickdolphins.com

Assistant Coaches

Helen Waugh

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

helen.waugh@alnwickdolphins.com

Sophia Murray-John

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

sophia.murray-john@alnwickdolphins.com

Andrew Duggan

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

andrew.duggan@alnwickdolphins.com

Audrey Stewart

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

audrey.stewart@alnwickdolphins.com

Lisa Brown

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

lisa.brown@alnwickdolphins.com

Nicola Duggan

Assistant Coach

Level 1 (Swim England)

nicola.duggan@alnwickdolphins.com

Poolside Assistants

Brett Ellis

Poolside Assistant
brett.ellis@alnwickdolphins.com

Jude Dennis

Poolside Assistant
jude.dennis@alnwickdolphins.com

Team Managers

Deborah Orr

Team Manager 1
deborah.orr@alnwickdolphins.com

Rebecca Wilson

Team Manager 1
rebecca.wilson@alnwickdolphins.com

Ruth Oldfield

Team Manager 2
ruth.oldfield@alnwickdolphins.com

Kane Orr

Team Manager 1
kane.orr@alnwickdolphins.com

Lesley-Ann Hall

Team Manager 1
lesley-ann.hall@alnwickdolphins.com

Mark Oldfield

Team Manager 1
mark.oldfield@alnwickdolphins.com

Iain Brown

Team Manager 1
iain.brown@alnwickdolphins.com

Andy Dennis

Team Manager 1
andy.dennis@alnwickdolphins.com

Clare Crossman

Team Manager 1
clare.crossman@alnwickdolphins.com

Want to get involved?

Are you a former teacher or just great with kids? Or maybe you have a swimmer at the club and want to feel useful? Regardless, see how you can help our swimmers realise their potential and help in the running of the club.

Get Involved